Why don’t you love me?

Why don’t you love me?
I’m kind.
I’m sweet.
I’m considerate.
I would do anything for you.

Why don’t you see me?
I could make you happy…
I promise.

Why won’t you have me?
Is it because I give myself so freely to you?
I’m sorry, I don’t know how to be coy.
It’s never been in my nature.

I wonder what you see when you look at me,
Am I a little girl lost or a woman coming into in her own?

I know I can’t make you love me,
Is it delusional that I still want to try?

Why won’t you take me as I am?
I know I said I was broken but I’m really trying to piece myself together again.
My efforts should be worth something, surely?

When I look at you,
I see everything I could be,
but I also see everything I’m not,
Everything I wish I was.

How do you make me feel so good and yet so insecure at the same time?

I can’t keep waiting around for someone else to validate me,
so that I forget you’re the one I really want.
I can’t wait around for someone to tell me how special and beautiful I am,
so that I forget that you don’t even acknowledge me.

So again I ask,
staring at my reflection in the mirror,
“Why don’t you love me?”

Leave a comment